Current Everyday Make Up Routine

IMG_8819.jpg

With my everyday make up routine, I try to be as simple as possible. I need something that I can get done quickly (I can master this one in about 15 minutes if  I move fast!) but something that also looks like I am well put together. Often I find myself rushing to get ready to leave for work/uni on time, and this has been my go to make up routine for those days where I just couldn’t tear myself out of bed any earlier.

I start by applying the Nyx Photo-Loving Primer all over my face and allowing it to settle for a minute or two. I’m really liking this primer- so much so that I’ve actually just bought my second tube. This product retails for £10 and I’ve heard a lot of people compare it to the Smashbox Photo Finish Primer. I haven’t tried it myself so I can’t comment on the similarities between the two but I know I’d rather be spending £10 than forking out over double that for the Smashbox one!

I then take my Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge and dampen it with the Mac Fix Plus and us it to blend in the Make Up Forever Ultra HD foundation. I absolutely love this foundation! I’m in the shade Y235 and it is the perfect match for my skin. It’s lightweight and doesn’t feel like I have foundation on but still gives me that flawless coverage I need. It is also very buildable so if you find that one coat doesn’t quite give you the look you want you can always add another layer without it being cakey.

Next I use my Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Complete Coverage Concealer. (why does that have SUCH a long name?) I talked about this in my April Favourites- which you can read here– and this concealer paired with the Make Up Forever foundation are the absolute dream team. Again, I use my Real Techniques Sponge to blend this in.

Then comes the powder. I’ve been using the Rimmel Clear Complexion Powder for the longest time- probably coming up to 3 years now?!- and I can’t get enough of it. It is so inexpensive- around £3 I believe- and is frequently on offer. I grab my Real Techniques Powder Brush and swirl in around in here before gently tapping off the excess and applying it all over my face to help set my foundation and concealer.

For bronzer I use the Benefit Hoola Bronzer, which you’ve all probably heard so much about before. I am still unsure as to how much I love this product- I find it very orange on my pale skin and it can be very easy to over do it but I watch people use it all the time so I think it must just be the way I apply it! I use a mix of the Real Techniques Sculpting brush to contour my cheekbones and then take the Real Techniques Buffing Brush to really buff the product into my skin to ensure that I don’t have any harsh lines.

The highlight I have been absolutely loving lately is the Rosie For Autograph Highlighter Powder. Again, I spoke about this in my April Favourites so be sure to go and read that post to see what I had to say about it! I either use the Real Techniques Setting Brush or the Contour Brush to dust this along my cheekbones, down my nose and on my cupids bow. Sometimes if I have an extra minute or so I’ll use a tiny eyeshadow brush to dab this on my inner eye to really make my eyes pop.

Now onto the brows… This is the part of my make up routine which causes me the most problems. Personally, I don’t think I am one of those people who can pull off the dark, thick brows. Naturally I have okay-ish eyebrows which I do very little to other than pluck the stray hairs that grow. Recently I have been using the Nyx Tame and Frame Brow Pomade to fill them in a little bit using the Zoeva Brow Brush. I try to use a very small amount of product as I don’t want them looking too dark, but I usually still feel like I’ve made them too dark and end up running a damp cotton bud through them to try and save them a little bit. Admittedly this probably makes the whole situation even worse but that is what usually tends to happen. I think I may invest in this product in a lighter colour- I have the shade Brunette- and it might help to solve my problem. Or maybe I just need to practice a bit more! Any tips would be greatly appreciated!!

I then curl my eyelashes and add a few coats of the Maybelline Lash-Sensational Mascara to my lashes. I’ve been using this mascara more or less everyday for a year now and I don’t think I’ll ever find one that I like better than this one! The shape of the brush just helps to really curl and lift my lashes and I can’t get enough of it!

At this point I usually have about 3 minutes left before I need to run out of the door so I either have to quickly apply some eyeliner or just go without. On the days where I have time I use the Miss Sporty Studio Lash The Miaoww eyeliner (I would be lying if I said I didn’t initially pick this up due to the cute packaging) to do a quick wing. I cannot recommend this eyeliner enough and it’s only £3!

Finally I spritz the Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray to help my make up to stay in place all day.

Over to you: What products are in your everyday make up routine?

IMG_8676

7 thoughts on “Current Everyday Make Up Routine

Leave a Reply

