FIRST IMPRESSIONS: L’Oreal Elvive Extraordinary Clay

FullSizeRender.jpg

I have seen so many Bloggers and YouTubers talking about this hair trio for a good few months now and I am finally getting around to trying it out. When I first heard about it I must admit I was very skeptical, but having seen everyone rave about how good it was I decided it was about time I gave it a shot. The collection is aimed at people who’s hair gets oily at the roots but is dry on the ends (a perfect explanation of how my hair gets!) and claims to give your hair 72 hours of “pure, lightweight roots”. Now my hair gets incredibly greasy the day after I’ve washed it so I tend to wash it every other day, so I’m always keen to try anything that reckons it can give me 3 days of clean hair!

When in Boots last week I stumbled upon a massive stand promoting this collection and each product was half price, which gave me the perfect opportunity to try it out. The collection consists of a Pre-Shampoo Treatment, a Rebalancing Shampoo and Conditioner, and a Dry Shampoo. I didn’t pick up the dry shampoo as I am really not a massive fan of it- (I’d rather just wash my hair!) but I did pick up the other three. As I sit writing this post, I have only tried them out twice so this is purely my first impressions, not a review of the products.

Pre-Shampoo Treatment

The Pre-Shampoo Treatment is a clay masque that instructs you to pop onto dry hair and massage it into your roots, leaving for 5 minutes. This information wasn’t actually on the packaging so I did have to Google what I was meant to do! The masque itself is a blue colour (it matched my hair colour at the time haha) that smells surprisingly good. I expected it to be a grey colour and smell of clay, but this is definitely not the case! It is a smooth, thick consistency which makes it very easy to apply as it isn’t running/dripping all over both you and the bathroom as you put it on! It reminded me a little bit of the hair dye I use funnily enough. It is relatively easy to cover your roots, although I did find that as it starts to dry it goes a bit hard so make sure you move quickly through your hair.

Now be warned, this product does stain your hands a little- something I wasn’t expecting to happen. But worry not, it comes right off when you are in the shower washing your hair anyway!  I found that it did sting my scalp a little, but I have very sensitive skin so this was no surprise. The process itself was slightly time consuming, which is a down side for me as I am usually in a massive rush to get ready. If you’re anything like me I would recommend doing this in the evening when you have a little bit more time on your hands.

As the product was drying on my head it made me panic a little- I thought it was going to be an absolute nightmare to wash out of my hair. I did not need to worry however, as the second my hair was under the shower stream it washed right out; quickly and easily. My roots felt very clean afterwards and nice and soft.

Rebalancing Shampoo & Conditioner

All in all, I don’t really have much to say about these two. They do their job well, and are mostly just like every other shampoo and conditioner out there. I do believe that they will only work to their full potential when all 3 are used together, rather than using the shampoo and conditioner alone. I found that the shampoo made my hair ridiculously knotty, but the conditioner sorted that out. I don’t think you could get away with using just the shampoo as you probably wouldn’t be able to get a brush through your hair afterwards! The pair smell nice- the same as the Pre-Shampoo Treatment, and the shampoo lathers up nicely. The conditioner is very thick and creamy which really nourishes your hair which always gets a massive thumbs up from me, but it does take a while to wash out completely.

After blow-drying my hair it feels incredibly soft and shiny, and I had next to no knots when brushing it out which is a first for me! My hair is usually a knotty mess that I have to really fight to drag a brush through! The products leave behind a pleasant scent to you hair which seems to stick around for a day.

The day after washing I was very pleased to find that my hair didn’t look greasy at all. It still smelt nice and fresh and looked it too! (even after I’d had my hair up in a hat at work for two days- impressive!) On the third day it did need a little bit of dry shampoo to get me through the day but if it means I can go an extra day without washing my hair, I am totally fine with this! My only concern with these products is that they are not colour safe. As you all know, I dye my hair often and the colour washes out annoyingly fast. I usually try to stick to sulphate free shampoos in order to keep the colour in my hair for as long as possible. Having only used these products twice (and redyed my hair in the middle of those two times) I can’t comment on if it washes out my colour quicker or not, but I will keep trying them out and see!

So, if like me, you find yourself washing your hair more often than you want to be doing, I’d definitely recommend giving these products a go!

Over to you: Have you tried these products? Do you have any tips on getting your hair to last longer between washes?

 

 

2 thoughts on “FIRST IMPRESSIONS: L’Oreal Elvive Extraordinary Clay

Leave a Reply

