Urban Decay’s Alice Through The Looking Glass Palette: Worth The Hype?

IMG_8789.JPG

If you know anything about me then you know three of my favourite things in life are eyeshadow, butterflies and Alice in Wonderland. When Urban Decay announced the launch of their new palette, Alice Through The Looking Glass, in partnership with Disney, I think I just about died from excitement. I knew that I had to get my hands on it.

I’ve already seen several blog posts about this palette, and despite getting this palette nearly a month ago now I’m somehow only just finding the time to blog about it. Unfortunately, life just keeps getting in the way! As a side note- I am going to be changing my upload day from Friday to Wednesday as I’m finding Friday is just not working for me as I now work Thursday-Sunday. So be sure to check my blog every Wednesday at 5:30pm (GMT) for new posts!

I bought this palette direct from Urban Decay’s website on the UK release day (Thursday 5th May) along with two of the lipsticks- Mad Hatter and Alice. I forked out for the next day delivery as I was going to be staying at my grandparents for the next few days, and I wanted to get it as quickly as I could (I know- I’m too impatient!) but unfortunately, despite ordering at 9am- way before the cut off time of 12pm- they didn’t send out my parcel until Friday afternoon, bearing in mind it should have been delivered that day, and I didn’t end up receiving the package until Monday. At this point, I had left my grandparents and gone back home so I had to make an extra trip back there to pick it up the following Wednesday so it would have been easier (and cheaper) to have just stuck to the free standard delivery they offer. I wasn’t too impressed with Urban Decay’s customer service either, as I still am yet to hear back from them (it is now the 30th as I write this) when I requested that I was refunded the money I paid for next day delivery seeing as it arrived 4 days after I’d placed my order. So needless to say I won’t be using that service again!

But anyway, I’m getting off topic. Back to the palette itself. The limited edition palette retailed for £43 and comes with 20 shades. The idea behind the collection is that each column is dedicated to a character- Alice, Mad Hatter, Iracebeth, Mirana and Time. Each character is given 4 eyeshadow shades to help you recreate their looks, alongside a lipstick. I only bought Alice and Mad Hatter since at £16 each (If I can remember correctly- I could be wrong) I couldn’t justify buying all 5, as much as I wanted to!

The packaging of this eyeshadow palette is absolutely insane. The top lifts open to display a massive mirror with the words “We’re all mad here” written along the bottom. The packaging itself is a matte black and on top of the two flaps the quote “I’m not strange, weird, off nor crazy, my reality is just different from yours” (one of my favourites!) is written in gold. Once you lift the flaps, you are met with a beautiful blue butterfly that pops up.

I absolutely love this, the packaging is so pretty and clever, interesting and completely different to something I ever seen before, which is exactly what you want from a limited edition product. I have to admit, it is incredibly over the top and even a bit annoying but I can deal with it. The eyeshadows are located in the bottom of the palette, which you pull out from underneath the main compartment where the butterfly is. This can pull all the way out and I have found that sometimes it is much easier to do this when you are using the eyeshadows as the rest of the packaging is heavy and gets in the way.

The eyeshadows themselves are where I was a little disappointed. I have found that for some of them the pigmentation isn’t the best, which is surprising from Urban Decay. Colours such as Dream On, Cake and Gone Mad- the brighter shades in the palette- aren’t very pigmented which is a shame since these are the colours that draw you in the most, but having said that I haven’t really had the time to properly play around with them yet. I’m sure if you spray a bit of the Mac Fix + on your brush before hand it’ll help make them stand out a bit more.

My favourite shades are Metamorphis: a pretty baby blue, Salazen Grum: a coppery-red, Royal Flush: the perfect pinky-champagne highlight colour, Dormouse: a matte brown with tiny specks of glitter and Paradox: a orangey brown shimmer. I also really like Time: a navy blue shimmer, and Mirror: a silver glitter- and these two together create the perfect smokey eye.

So, is it worth the hype? Overall I do love the palette, but is it only because I love Alice In Wonderland? Admittedly, I bought this palette because of this reason only, and because I usually love Urban Decay’s products. If I’d have seen these selection of colours in any other palette I probably wouldn’t have bought it, if I’m being totally honest. At £43 it is quite expensive, and I definitely think you’re paying for the packaging (as beautiful as it is!) and the Disney label. That being said, I do really love several of the colours inside and I haven’t really given it enough of a chance to make a proper decision. I also thought that the colours selected for Mad Hatter would be much brighter, bolder and more fun than they are, but I do still like the colours- especially Paradox. I think all in all, the palette is worth the money- you do get 20 eyeshadows and it is limited edition. I think that being a fan of Alice In Wonderland will definitely influence whether you purchase it or not.

The lipsticks are a whole other story. I’m not really that much of a lipstick fan-I watch other people wearing them and think they look amazing but when it comes to myself I think I look ridiculous in them. Unfortunately, this is the case with the ones I bought.

Whilst I absolutely love them- especially the Mad Hatter shade- I am unsure when I will actually wear them out of the house. The Mad Hatter is a crazy bold purple with a metallic finish, and is truly incredible. It matches my hair too! I think if you wear this one you’d have to go for a simple eye look, rather than using the brighter shades in the palette. I 100% recommend this lipstick, but if like me, you aren’t a confident lipstick wearer, I’d give it a miss.

The Alice one however, I’ve actually been wearing. It is a sheer nude, which has a slight peachy hint. When swatched on the back of your hand it is very orangey, however on your lips it looks more pink. It is a really hard shade to describe! I really like this lipstick as it gives you a really subtle shine to your lips and can be worn with just about any eye look- weather you opt for a warm smokey brown, a natural pink or a crazy purple. I think this is one of those lipsticks everybody needs in their collection. They are both very long wearing and apply really nicely. The consistency is smooth and creamy and isn’t patchy at all. The Alice shade does cling to your lips if they are a little more on the dry side so just watch out for that. The packaging for them both is stunning as well- black with a colourful floral print which matches the packing on the palette. They look lovely sitting in my acrylic make up storage!

Overall, I don’t regret buying these products, however I do think they may become some of the more less used items in my make up collection once the initial hype wears off. Next weeks post is going to be a selection of some of the looks I’ve created using this palette, so be sure to keep an eye out for that!

Over to you: Do you have this palette? What are your opinions? 

3 thoughts on “Urban Decay’s Alice Through The Looking Glass Palette: Worth The Hype?

Leave a Reply

